• Act Now
  • Posts
  • Time Batch Your Way to Success

Time Batch Your Way to Success

Today I’d like to pass along what is probably the most helpful productivity advice I have ever received. Years ago I learned about time batching, and it has drastically improved my levels of focus and overall productivity.

Time batching is when you group similar tasks together so that you can stay in the same frame of mind and avoid context switching while working. For example, you could time batch answering emails and setting meetings so that you have a designated administrative duties time block. You could also have one day a week where you stack all of your meetings back to back. That way you get into “meeting mode” and you have fewer miscellaneous meetings sporadically set throughout the week that pull you away from your other work.

I time batch these newsletters. Once a week I try to write as many newsletters as I can. I have a writing time block on my calendar where that is the only thing I do during that block. I have a separate time block for researching new ideas, and a third block for creating graphics for all of my upcoming newsletters. Rather than working on one individual newsletter at a time and completing the researching, writing, and graphics for that specific newsletter at once, I do one activity for a group of newsletters so that my brain stays optimized for that task.

If you’re a student, you might approach studying by going class by class. Staying in the frame of mind for that class by doing all of your math at once or all of your english at once can be helpful. But you could also time batch by grouping practice tests together, or making study guides for multiple classes. The subject matter might change, but the task stays the same.

One great example of time batching that everyone can apply is running errands. Rather than running out to get groceries one day, then picking up a prescription the next day, and going to a doctor’s appointment another day, try to batch all of these together. When you know you’re going to have to leave your house for an appointment, look to see what other errands you can stack before and after your appointment while you’re already out.

Action item: Where can you batch tasks in your life? Look at the activities and tasks you have that are similar in mental and/or physical function. How can you stack them together to make the most of your time, energy, and focus?